Zoning & Planning Commission Minutes

November 25, 2014

A regular meeting of the Hopkins Zoning and Planning Commission was held on Tuesday, November 25, 2014, at 6:30 p.m. in the Council Chambers of Hopkins City Hall.

Present were Commission Members Brian Hunke, Scott Kerssen, Matt McNeil, Mike Tait, Charles Firth, Jennifer Allard and Andrew Fisher.

Also present was staff member Nancy Anderson.


Mr. Kerssen called the meeting to order at 6:30 p.m. in the Council Chambers.


Ms. Allard moved and Mr. Firth seconded the motion to approve the minutes of the October 28, 2014, regular meeting. The motion was approved unanimously.


Ms. Anderson reviewed the proposed amendment with the Commission. The Commission discussed whether the B-2 zoning district was the appropriate district for vaping establishments.

The public hearing was opened at 6:45 p.m. No one appeared at the public hearing. Mr. Tait moved and Mr. Fisher seconded a motion to close the public hearing. The motion was approved unanimously.  The public hearing was closed at 6:46 p.m.

Mr. Fisher moved and Mr. Tait seconded a motion to adopt Resolution RZ14-15, recommending approval of a zoning amendment permitting vaping establishments in the B-2 zoning district and adding a definition for vaping studios and tobacco shops.  The motion was approved on a 5-1 vote. Mr. Firth voted nay and Mr. McNeil abstained.


Ms. Allard moved and Mr. McNeil seconded a motion to adjourn the meeting.  The motion was approved unanimously. The meeting was adjourned at 6:47 p.m.


City of Hopkins logo (H with raspberry)City of Hopkins, Minnesota

Inspire. Educate. Involve. Communicate.