Zoning & Planning Commission Minutes

October 27, 2009

A regular meeting of the Hopkins Zoning and Planning Commission was held on Tuesday, October 27, 2009, at 6:30 p.m. in the Council Chambers of Hopkins City Hall.

Present were Commission Members Kathy Newcomb, Patrick Beddor, Tom Jenny, Linda Flynn and Kyle Skiermont. Bob Hatlestad was absent.

Also present was staff member Nancy Anderson.

Call to Order

Mr. Skiermont called the meeting to order at 6:30 p.m. in the Council Chambers.

Election of Vice-Chair

Ms. Newcomb nominated Mr. Skiermont for vice chair. Mr. Jenny seconded the nomination. There were no other nominations for vice chair. Mr. Skiermont was unanimously elected vice chair.

Approval of Minutes

Mr. Beddor moved and Ms. Newcomb seconded the motion to approve the minutes of the September 29, 2009, regular meeting.  The motion was approved unanimously. 

ITEM: Design Guidelines

Ms. Anderson reviewed the proposed design guidelines with the Commission. The Commission discussed monument signs and setbacks. Staff will work on the ordinance and bring it back to the Commission for additional review.


Mr. Skiermont moved and Mr. Jenny seconded a motion to adjourn the meeting.  The motion was approved unanimously. The meeting was adjourned at 7:00 p.m.


City of Hopkins logo (H with raspberry)City of Hopkins, Minnesota

Inspire. Educate. Involve. Communicate.