Charter Commission Minutes

April 27, 2010

The Hopkins Charter Commission met on April 27. Present were Commission members Dorothy Boen, David Day, Roger Gross, Fran Hesch, Karen Jensen, Roger Johnson, Steve Lewis, and Emily Wallace-Jackson.

The meeting was brought to order at 6:33 p.m. by the Chair of the Commission, Emily Wallace-Jackson.

Approval of the Minutes of the Previous Meeting

Commissioner Hesch moved and Commissioner Jensen seconded a motion to approve the minutes of the June 30, 2009 meeting. The motion was approved unanimously.

Election of Officers

Commissioner Lewis nominated Commissioner Wallace-Jackson for Chair and Commissioner Jensen for Vice-Chair. Commissioner Boen seconded the nomination. Commissioner Wallace-Jackson and Commissioner Jensen were reelected by a unanimous vote.

Old Business

Instant Runoff Elections

Mr. Genellie provided an update on IRV in Minnesota. The City of Minneapolis conducted its November 2009 election using Ranked Choice Voting. This was done using hand counting due to the fact that there are no machines in Minnesota at this time which can handle RCV ballots.

In St. Paul, voters, in the November 2009 election, approved the use Instant Runoff Voting for future elections.

Several bills authorizing cities to use ranked choice voting were introduced in 2009. The legislature has taken no action on these bills in 2010.

The consensus was that the Commission still favors ranked choice voting. Although at this time the Commission is reluctant to propose any ordinance which might require additional costs by the City.

The Commission also reiterated its position on the purchase of any new voting machines. Any new voting machines should be able to count ranked ballot voting ballots.

Commissioner Hesch moved and Commissioner Gross seconded a motion to adjourn. The meeting adjourned by unanimous consent at 7:12 p.m.


City of Hopkins logo (H with raspberry)City of Hopkins, Minnesota

Inspire. Educate. Involve. Communicate.